

PROCLAMATION



WHEREAS, On March 24, 1994, the Brinker Volunteer Fire Rescue was formed by founding members Chief Carl Nix, President Lee Huff, Secretary/Treasurer Teresa Hugg along with Brian Knowles, Allen Story, Harrell Hettich, Max Bradford, Glenn Smith, Dusty Mcillwain, Jerry Horton, Bobby George, Don Brooks, Beth Gilpin and Ronald "Squirrel" Wells were approved by the Hopkins County Commissioners Court; and

WHEREAS, The first fire truck became the department's first apparatus through the efforts made by area fire departments outside Hopkins County and the Texas Forestry Service; and

WHEREAS, Equipment was purchased by donations from fundraisers and individuals of the Brinker community; and

WHEREAS, The first service call resulted in responding to a grass fire on August 8, 1994 at the property located at County Road 3341; and

WHEREAS, In 2001, the department suffered a catastrophic fire in the station's bay area; and

WHEREAS, In 2004, The Brinker Volunteer Fire Rescue was awarded a FEMA grant for a custom pumper. Another grant from the Texas Forestry Service allowed funds for a Tanker; and

WHEREAS, The department prospered under Chief Herb Scott during his 2005-2011 service followed by the leadership of Chief Andy Endsley and the Fire and EMS Academy – Fire In Texas; and

WHEREAS, The current members – Chief Jamie Foster, Assistant Chief Austin Corley, Captain Wade McDaniel, Carl Nix, Conner Nix, Jeff Strickland, Brady Crouse, Mike Corley, Brandon Foster, Brody Sproles, Brenden Clark take pride in providing assistance to its residents as well as those individuals whose traveling plans include Hopkins County; and

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Hopkins County Commissioners Court urges all citizens to applaud the outstanding efforts of the Brinker Volunteer Fire Department, to recognize the dedication in their perseverance to provide protection to all people and their property and, offer heartfelt appreciation for the servanthood of each one.

Robert Newsom, Hopkins County Judge

Mickey Barker, Commissioner, Pct. 1

Wade Bartley, Commissioner, Pct. 3

Greg Anglin, Commissioner, Pct. 2

EXHIBIT

Joe Price, Commissioner, Pct. 4

Andy Endsley, Hopkins County Fire Chief